List of Banned Countries Obtaining SSL Certificate:

Hopefully you already know about SSL & that is why you are here. But if you don’t know, here is a single line of overview with plain English: SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) declares a green signal & tells the visitors, the connection is Secured between visitor’s browser & website owner’s server.

Anyway, Certification Authority has restricted the following countries from obtaining SSL for some reason.

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Belarus*
  3. Cote d’Ivoire
  4. Cuba
  5. Democratic Republic of Congo
  6. Eritrea
  7. Guinea
  8. Iran
  9. Iraq
  10. Liberia
  11. Myanmar
  12. North Korea
  13. Pakistan
  14. Rwanda
  15. Sierra Leone
  16. South Sudan
  17. Sudan
  18. Syria
  19. Syrian Arab Republic
  20. Zimbabwe

If you found your or your client’s country in this list and wondering why these countries isn’t valid for obtaining SSL then here is a quick explanation (summery) of it. Those countries are experiencing a Political unrest for a long time, lack of security travelling in their countries, etc.